This blog presents Kando Inoue roshi's activities, mainly his dharma talks of shobogenzo in English. Kando is the top advocate of shobogenzo by Zen Master Dogen.

 Started from June 2020.
     Details  → Kando Inoue Online Zen-kai (Japanese)

   The next meeting   2020.7.11 (Sat.) am.7:00-8:30 (Japan Time)
   A sermon and questions & answers on ZOOM 

     Thirty seven items of Bodhi was advocated at Entuji in Krashiki city Okayama in 2016. Kando Inoue roshi has advocated Dogen’s Shobogenzo through his entire life in Japan.
     Thirty-seven items of Bodhi are considered as the methods to get enlightened in Hinayana Buddhism. However, Master Dogen did not discriminate the two Buddhist schools, Mahayana and Hinayana. He explained that there existed only the Buddhism that the Buddha taught. 
     Dogen Zenji advocates this Thirty-seven items of Bodhi to explain the true way of practice. However, what he preaches unfolds differently from that of Hinayana school. It is not the practice to improve ourselves by observing ourselves as object but it is the way to clarify our true nature provided originally, by learning ourselves.
     Kando Inoue roshi succeeded Master Dogen’s teaching and let us practice the basic of Zen; to observe appearance and disappearance of Dharma rightly, pure-sitting. He preaches us that the practice is to be in the state here and now as it is, as the working of six organs without inserting our thoughts, the way thinking, feeling, and ideas. 
     The four abodes of mindfulness are placed first in the thirty-seven items of Bodhi. Kando roshi analyzes closely Dogen’s original text and explain difficult words. He often uses plain similes and conveys Dogen’s true meaning. He really shows us how the right practice is and let us know it.
     I am truly grateful for Knado roshi’s kind guidance.
                                                                                           Shizuka Tatsuta
                                                                                           June 2020

     “Shakyamuni Buddha says “All buddhas and bodhisattvas rest in this dharma forever as it is a sacred womb (a sacred body of the buddha).” Go on living like this. Nothing is more comfortable than this. What’s more, it is a sacred womb. Can we say it the sacred body of the buddha? There might be a long word ‘Seitai choyo, a sacred womb and long rest.’ “So all buddhas and bodhisattvas have regarded these four abodes of mindfulness as a sacred womb, a sacred body of buddha, you should know that they are the sacred womb of balanced realization. And the sacred womb of subtle realization.” There was a person who expressed the content of realization as the stage of fifty-two ranks such like balanced realization or subtle realization. Among such studying there are this sort of expression though, in a word, it means whichever condition you are in. Whoever he is, he is really in the state of his own and see though the thing of this sort like this. The first is the observation that the body is not pure, the second is the observation that feeling is suffering, the third is the observation that mind is without constancy, the fourth is the observation that Dharma is without self. This is the practice that the Buddha did. Therefore, in Buddhism, Dharma Seals is firstly expressed, namely, all things are impermanent, all dharmas are selflessness, Enlightenment leads serenity, which are Three Dharma Seals. It is expressed such as the truth of things. 
      “It has already spoken of all buddhas and bodhisattvas, and so buddhas are not the subtle realization, also regard it as the sacred womb. Bodhisattvas who have sprung out being prior to balanced realization or beyond subtle realization also regard these four abodes of mindfulness as a sacred womb.” Not only the realized people but also people on the way of practice go on practicing on this way. The way like this is said, “Truly, the skin, fresh, bones, and marrow of the buddhas and the patriarchs” which says that the fine realized people’s life is such in content. What are they doing? Although they live in the same way and live together, the place they are touching is different. Whether they are only idling the days every day or receiving the content correctly, it is entirely different. If you don’t know things, even though you live the same life, it is entirely different. And the way of life comes to change completely. You don’t know what they are doing as it is the matter of the other, you might not know, but I can know well that there are many people around me whom I have known dozens of years. Such people have come to change. Their life has come to change utterly. When saying what they are doing, they don’t especially live differently from that of until now. They do the same thing every day. 
     Therefore, firstly the four abodes of mindfulness, the four ways to touch things are. For the present I would like to finish here. Itemized like this and entitled, you are easy to study.